Tornadoes round off year with awards night


Swimming: Tornadoes round off year with awards night



PROUD NIGHT: Members of Tornadoes Swimming Club


TORNADOES Swimming Club celebrated a memorable 2018 with their annual trophy night.


Special awards went to Ava Lamb and James Hall on the development team plus Heidi Olson and Ben Playle on the Endeavour trophy junior side.


Lilly Davies and Josh Pepper won Sam Walker Memorial shields and Harry Stewart won the head coaches’ shield.


Pepper also won the chairperson’s shield while Hannah Kearns and Mike Marston won the respective clubwoman and man of 2018.


Chairperson Jo Middleton praised the team.  She said: “Tornadoes is a small swimming club, but a fantastic one. You should all be proud to call yourselves a member.”

A squad duo Nathan Moorey and Harry Stewart have also reached the nationals.


Awards: Ava Lamb & James Hall – development squad; Heidi Olson & Ben Playle – Endeavour Trophy junior squad; Lilly Davies & Josh Pepper – Sam Walker Memorial shields; Harry Stewart – head coaches shield; Josh Pepper – chairperson’s shield; Hannah Kearns – clubwoman of 2018; Mike Marston – clubman of 2018.