Covid: What are the new tiers 4 lockdown rules in England?

Which parts of south-east England have changed to tier four?
All current tier three areas across London and south-east England have moved into tier four restrictions.
The areas affected are:
  • Greater London (all 32 boroughs and the City of London)
  • Kent
  • Buckinghamshire (including Milton Keynes
  • Berkshire
  • Surrey (excluding Waverley)
  • Gosport, Havant, Portsmouth
  • Rother and Hastings
  • Bedforshire
  • Hertfordshire
  • Essex (excluding Colchester, Uttlesford and Tendring)
  • Peterborough

What are the new restrictions in tier four?

The restrictions are similar to the last national lockdown in England, in November. They include:


  • Residents should stay at home, unless they have a 'reasonable excuse' such as work or education
  • All non-essential retail will have to close, along with hairdressers, nail bars, and indoor entertainment venues
  • Gyms and indoor swimming pools, indoor sports courts and dance studios must close
  • No-one in tier four will be allowed to join Christmas Day bubbles in tiers one to three
  • You cannot meet other people indoors, unless you live with them or they are part of your support bubble
  • People should not leave tier four areas or travel abroad, except in limited circumstances (including work and education)
  • Weddings and civil partnership ceremonies are not allowed except in exceptional circumstances

What are you allowed to do in tier four?

Some activities are still allowed under tier four restrictions. They include:

  • People can meet one other person from another household in an open public space (but must be on their own)
  • Buying things at shops (which are still open) such as food and medicine
  • Support bubbles remain unaffected, as do the exemptions for separated parents and their children
  • Outdoor pools, playgrounds, sports courts, golf courses and horse riding centres can stay open
  • Leaving home for education, training, childcare and for medical appointments and emergencies
  • Communal religious worship