Committee Members

The Committee

The City of Leicester committee is made up of volunteers who strive to make the Club the best that it can be. All committee members have currently or have previously had children who swam with the City of Leicester.

If you have any comments or suggestions on how we could improve the club, please have a chat with any member of the committee below, or email us.




Derek Bell


Derek is a director of the Club and has been Chair since December 2016. As a former competitive swimmer, Derek is also a swimming official and a qualified British Swimming referee. He has one swimmer in the CoL programme - William, who is in Elite. Their base club is Loughborough.

Caroline Oxley 


Also a Club Director, Caroline is a doctor of medicine by day, and treasurer / swim taxi by night. She has 5 children, 3 of whom swim at CoL: Harriet (Performance); Olly (NAG) and Jess (Reg 2). Base Club: Braunstone.

Julie Kabouya

Welfare Officer

Julie has been involved with CoL for many years since her children, both of whom competed internationally for Algeria, swam at the club. Julie was a timekeeper, a qualified judge and has remained as a committee member and Welfare Officer - something for which we are all very grateful.

Gill Russell


Gill is head of geography at a secondary school in Ashby and recently joined the committee towards the end of last season, assuming the important role of secretary. She is a qualified J1 and has two swimmers in the programme - Lucy (Performance) and Annabel (NAG). Their base club is Coalville.

Matthew Streeter


Matt's daughter Alice, has been at the City since development and is now in NAG. As well as being a qualified J2, Matt was the main man in helping to bring the CoL survey to fruition. Base club: Market Harborough.

Paula O'Reilly


Paula joined the committee in April 2019. In her real life, she heads up the Marketing Procurement team at BT/EE/Plusnet. Her daughters are Carys in Elite and Aimee in REG 1, base club is Hinckley. A qualified J1, she and her family have been part of CoL for 6 years.  

Sally Stevens


Sally also joined the committee in April 2019 and has 2 daughters at CoL: Keanna (Performance) and Alexia (NAG). Coming from a job in communications, she wanted to lend her skills to the club to help improve the clubs internal and external comms. Base club: Braunstone.

Darryl Ryan


Darryl who is originally from the beautiful country of NZ has been on the committee for a number of years. He is a qualified J2 and trainee JS2. He has 2 sons, one of whom was previously at CoL and both of whom still swim at Hinckley. Daryl manages everything electronic at CoL meets.

Kathy Mathias

Volunteer coordinator & membership support

Kathy is the latest recruit to the committee With a background in HR, her skills will be invaluable in helping to streamline processes and procedures. She has 2 daughters - Poppy (in NAG) and Eva who swims at their base club, Coalville.

Jamie Evans

Head Coach

You can read more about Jamie under the coaches tab

Committee members can be contacted by emailing