On Friday 17th January 2020 Coleraine Swimming Club held our annual Awards Night and for the second year it in a row it was held at the wonderful setting of the Royal Court Hotel in Portrush. Our Club Chairman, David Curry, welcomed everyone and thanked the coaches and parents for their contimued support – without whom the club could not function.

There were over 100 members sitting down to dinner and there was also the majority of coaches and quite a few parents also in attendance to watch the proceedings.

After dinner the cups from the O’Hara Gala on 7th December were handed out by Gary Greene and Joanne Ilsley (retired secretary) to all relevant winners and runner up medals given to 2nd and 3rd places while the three other finalists per race were awarded finalist ribbons.

The following special prizes were also handed out.

Male Club Captain – Andre Krystowski

Female Club Captain – Molly Curry

Teletots/Aquasprint – Boys – Kioni Little

Teletots/Aquasprint Girls – Riona Cassidy

Most points at PTL Boys – Daniel Eakin

Pauline Larsen Trophy most points at PTL Girls – Molly Curry

Most Improved Newcomer – Solomon Patterson

Most Improved Boy -Isaac Duddy

Most Improved Girl – Olivia Higgins

Boy’s Endeavour – Ethan Turbitt

Girl’s Endeavour – Emma Price

Male Swimmer of the Year – Conor McIlroy-Sanchez

Female Swimmer of the Year – Orla Quinn

Trophy for Coach of the Year – Male – Simon Walton

Trophy for Coach of the Year -Female – Aidine McQuillan

Jim Foote Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Club** – Gerry McEwan

** The Jim Foote Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Club is a new club presented to the club by Jim Foote during the 50th Anniversary year of the club in 2019.


These awards are presented annually at the Club Gala.

Pauline Larssen – This is awarded the boy and girl with most points in the PTL Galas

Endeavour – Awarded to the Boy and Girl who have consistently put in the effort and work without achieving the success the effort has deserved – Swimmers who are always present/available at training and although not winners, are always willing to support, help the team, help the club, help fellow swimmers, assist poolside and work with younger swimmers.

Most Improved – Given to the boy and girl who have shown the most improvement in times over 5 competitive events, ie 50m BC, 50m BR, 50m FLY, 50m FC and 100m IM. It runs from the start of season to the end of season and from 2nd Year ‘B’ Group (involves mostly 2nd year ‘B’ and both years in ‘C’ Group)

Teletots Rosebowl – Awarded to the boy and girl Teletot that has contributed most to the teletots, in attitude, morale, dependability, commitment etc, specifically NOT performance based.

Swimmer of the Year – To the outstanding boy and girl in the Club. Can be for performance or any other notable contributions to the club. It does not have to performance related or exclusively for performances. It could be an older swimmer who does exceptional work poolside, helping coaches, helping younger swimmers etc.

Performances should preferably be for club representative events, ie PTL, Age Groups, Ulster/Irish Championships, End of Season PTL, rather than Schools related. (Generally Group ‘C’ 2nd year and above)