Worksop Dolphins
Swimming Club

History of Worksop Dolphins

Worksop Dolphins was formed as a Swimming Club in 1975, Their headquarters were at the Old Valley Road Sports Centre in Worksop,. The Club is affiliated to Swim England East Midlands Region, and Notts ASA


Club colours are Green, White and Navy.

The founder member of the Club was Wyn Short; the first Chairman was Peter Stracey, Secretary was Judith Winn and Treasurer was David Owen. Other adult members who helped form the Club were Roy Chapman, Ted Turner, Jeff Jennings and Alan Hudson.

In 1978 Alex McLauchlan took over as Chairman from Roy Chapman, he continued in that position until taking on the new post as President in 2001, Stuart Evans then took over as Chairman, the present Chairman is Adrian Gillott.

The Club joined all the local leagues and in the early years participated in the North East Speedo League, before joining the East Midlands Speedo League.
In 1978 Dolphins made their first exchange trip to Dundee Arnhall, this exchange between the clubs lasted for 30 years. In 1981 the club ventured further by making the trip to Garbsen, Worksop’s twin town in Germany and this exchange continued for many years. Many life-time
friendships have been created through the exchange trips and the swimming competitions were very good.
Dolphins have been very fortunate to have had some fine Head Coaches over the years: Wyn Short; Ivan Bannister; John Brain; Bill Parr; Russ Coupe; Steve Mitchell, the present coach Giannis Valkoumas was a coach previously for one of the top clubs in Greece, having been a Greek National and International swimmer.
The history of the club would not be correct without giving a mention to some of the swimmers from the past who have achieved at high levels: Glynis Wilson; Julie Barnard; Emma Chaplin; Joanne Hibbert; Anna Ward; Richard Jennings; Russell Parr; Mark Conroy; James Rist; Lee Conroy; Carl Heathcote and Andrew Jefferson to name a few, plus many more since - Jamie Evans being one of them.
Below:- Left 12 Year Old  Boys County Champions.  Below:- Counties Team on which 7 qualified for Nationals that year
The Club award Life Memberships to people who have worked hard for the club over a number of years. Recipients of this honour are Alex McLauchlan, Mike Conroy, David Rush, Elsie Rush and Steve Mitchell. 
Dolphins swimmers continue to meet high standards, and everyone connected with the club are very proud of their swimmers’ achievements.


Sponsored By